There's something *fishy* about your rosé

Today, I am here to talk to you about something that’s so important. Like, so important. You guys… there’s something lurking in your wine. And, there’s something fishy about it.

Like really fish. Real fish (“isinglass” aka fish bladder). Or eggs (egg whites), milk (casein) and gelatin. It’s true. Many wines available to us are fined and filtered with milk, eggs, gelatin and/or fish products. Gag.

No way, rosé! Your favorite wine may have been produced using fish bladders, egg whites, gelatin or milk proteins. Yuck.

No way, rosé! Your favorite wine may have been produced using fish bladders, egg whites, gelatin or milk proteins. Yuck.

You might be wondering (like I was) why these products are used in the wine-making process. Well, fining removes solid particles from wine, resulting in a consistent, clear and nice-looking product. Filtration is used to find any impurities and filter them out.

I had no idea this was a thing until we moved to Australia. Here, winemakers are required to label potential allergens, including sulphites in concentrations above 10ppm. It was so disheartening. There I was enjoying a glass of rosé, reading the back of my new bottle and seeing milk products were used in the making of my wine. Ew. Talk about a buzzkill.

Luckily, there are many vegan alternatives on the market that are oftentimes even organic and/or biodynamic. These wines use fining agents like bentonite clay powder, activated charcoal or the modern technology of cross-flow filters. You may even notice some really natural, vegan wines have some cloudiness to them. Instead of being filtered out, the little particles settle to the bottom - it’s harmless and adds to the purity of the wine.

So, how can you find vegan-friendly wines?

  • Look at the label — since vegan is pretty trendy at the morning, some winemakers are plastering the vegan label right on the bottle.

  • Unfiltered or unfixed — if this is on the label, it’s guaranteed to be a vegan wine.

  • Cross flow or sterile filters — this language on a label indicates animal-free practices were used in the wine-making process

  • Look it up online — either do a quick search if your wine is vegan or head to Barnivore.com, which has a big database on vegan wines

  • Search Barnivore — this online database is pretty old school, but it works. So, if you have time to sift through its pages or directly search the wine you’re considering, then it’s a good option.

To help you with your spring and summer sips, here are my three favorite vegan rosés. And, one even comes in cans for easy boat and beach days #yeswayrosé


If you’re more of a hard liquor, beer or cider person, you’re in luck. Most of those items are vegan-friendly. However, if you have any doubts or you just want to double check, do a quick web search. The info is out there. Sometimes, it is pretty hidden. I have reached out on Facebook messenger to companies before to see if their wine is vegan or not. They often reply faster than through email.

At the end of the day though, enjoy your glass of wine. Life’s too short to get hung up on the small stuff. Sure you may drink some wine filtered through a fish bladder, but #didyoudie😂

If we try to control everything, it can make us crazy. And, that’s not healthy or ideal either. To shift from the worrying mindset of “perfect food,” try practicing gratitude. Be grateful you get to be out with friends enjoying life. Or enjoying a date night with the hubs. Feel grateful that you are alive. Gratitude truly does change everything xx

Is your wine vegan? Probably not.

Is your wine vegan? Probably not.

I hope you find this info as interesting as I did. And, if you have more questions about beginning a plant-based lifestyle, just subscribe to my blog and you’ll be prompted to download my free Purely Plantbased ebook. This ebook is full of useful tips and tricks on navigating these oftentimes confusing vegan waters. It’ll inspire you to stay on your journey, provide you with helpful tips when eating out, let you know where you will get your protein and other FAQ’s and there’s even an easy, nutrient-dense 3-day meal plan to make transitioning foolproof. I know a lot of you have signed up and downloaded it already, and I’m so grateful for all of the positive feedback I’ve received. It really means a lot. I’ve spent countless hours perfecting it for you, and I’m so happy to see it’s already changing lives! You guys are so awesome! xx